The Burnum Distinguished Faculty Award is awarded annually to recognize and promote excellence in research, scholarship, and teaching. The recipient will have demonstrated superior scholarly or artistic achievements and a profound dedication to the art of teaching, all of which bring distinctive credit to the academic community in general and to The University of Alabama in particular. The Burnum Award focuses on research and teaching excellence that has developed and accrued during a distinguished career at The University of Alabama. The Burnum Award Committee, comprised of former winners of the Burnum Award, screens nominees and forwards its two top nominees to the President, who in turn selects the annual winner.

Evidence requested to support the nomination includes:

a. evaluation of teaching ability

b. letters from former students and distinguished external nominators

c. copies of student evaluations and other student outcome materials

d. assessment of contribution to intellectual development of former students

e. contribution to research and service at UA

f. contribution to research and service to UA

g. citation index (if appropriate)


2022: Claire Major, Education, Educational Leadership/Policy/Technology Studies

2021: Anup Agrawal, CCB, Economic, Finance and Legal Studies

2020: Ramana Reddy, ENG, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

2019: Ajay K. Agrawal, ENG, Mechanical Engineering

2018: Subhabrata Chakraborti, CCB, Information Systems, Statistics, and Management Science

2017: Marietta Stanton, NU, Nursing

2016: Catherine Roach, A&S, New College

2015: Arunava Gupta, A&S & ENG, Joint appointment with Chemistry and ENG (Chemical & Biological Engineering)

2014: Walter Enders, C&BA, Economics, Finance & Legal Studies

2013: Seth Panitch, A&S, Theatre & Dance

2012: Joel Brouwer, A&S, English

2011: George C. Rable, A&S, History

2010: David A. Dixon, A&S, Chemistry

2009: Ernest A. Mancini, A&S, Geological Sciences

2008: Jennings Bryant, CIS, Telecommunication & Film

2007: John E. Lochman, A&S, Psychology

2006: Harris Schlesinger, C&BA, Economics, Fin & LS

2005: Pamela H. Bucy, Law, Law

2004: Charles G. Snead, A&S, Music

2003: Robin Don Rogers, A&S, Chemistry

2002: Robin Kathleen Behn, A&S, Creative Writing

2001: William W. Dressler, A&S, Anthropology & SW

2000: Dolf Ziimann, CIS, Mass Communication

1999: Philip D. Beidler, A&S, English

1998: Richard C. Bradt, ENG, Met. & Mat. Eng

1997: Thomas A. Lee, C&BA, Accountancy

1996: John P. Formby, C&BA, Economics

1995: Leon Weinburger, A&S, Religious Studies

1994: George H. Wolfe, A&S, English

1993: Robert G. Wetzel, A&S, Biology

1992: Michael P. Cava, A&S, Chemistry

1991: Tony A. Freyer, C&BA, History and Law

1990: Doru M. Stefanescu, ENG, Met. & Mat. Eng

1989: Margaret Stieg Dalton, LIB, SLIS

1988: Howard Jones, A&S, History

1987: Lowell D. Kispert, A&S, Chemistry

1986: William A. Thomas, A&S, Geological Sciences

1985: Jerry L. Atwood, A&S, Chemistry

1984: Fred C. Hobson, A&S, English

1983: Norman Ellis, A&S, Psychology

1982: J. Barry Mason, C&BA, Marketing

1981: Chester Alexander, A&S, Physics

1980: Forrest McDonald, A&S, History